Click to Home

326 Laurel St.  |  Brainerd, MN 56401
Go To Search
Home Print Facebook Twitter YouTube
Marriage
Getting Married?
Contact
Auditor-Treasurer
Marriage License
326 Laurel St., Suite 22
Brainerd, MN  56401

Phone: (218) 824-1045
Fax: (218) 824-1046

Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
A marriage license purchased in Minnesota only allows you to be married in Minnesota and must be applied for at least five (5) business days before your wedding date. In an emergency a waiver of the 5 days may be applied for through the court administrator's office after completing the application.

Your marriage license is valid for six months, and may be used anywhere in Minnesota.

The official who performs the marriage ceremony should file the marriage license with us within five days of the ceremony (MS 517.10)

How to apply
  • Feel free to stop at our office during business hours. You will fill out your application by hand, complete the application process and receive your license after the 5 business day waiting period.
  • Or, download the application, print and bring it to our office to complete the application process. Do not sign the application until you are asked to at our counter.

What to bring
  • Your downloaded application
  • Both applicants, or if one of you can't come in, the supplemental form for party not appearing
  • Identification such as a driver's license or state issued ID
  • If one or both of you has a felony conviction, please read Minnesota statute  MS 259.13 for requirements

Fee
  • $115 - Regular fee:  Payable by cash, check, debit or credit card, or money order is due at time of application.
  • $40 - Reduced fee:  If the you have obtained pre-marital education as per MS 517.08. You must bring in a signed and dated statement, printed on the church or educator's letterhead with the educator's signature notarized. This statement must be presented at the time the marriage license is applied for or the regular license fee is due. There are no refunds on the fees charged for a marriage license.

Additional Information
  • A packet of information will be given to you with your license. Included is instructions on changing your name with other entities
  • A marriage must be witnessed by two adults (16 or older)
  • Neither of you is required to be a Minnesota resident
  • You generally cannot get married on the same day you apply, however if there is an emergency, complete and bring the five-day waiver form with you
  • Your license may be used for six months anywhere in Minnesota
  • Minnesota Marriage License Application Statute 517.08
  • Get a copy of a marriage certificate
  • The official who performs the marriage ceremony should file the marriage license with us within five days of the ceremony (MS 517.10)
  • Notary services are available at our office and other offices in the court house
  • Online marriage record/certificate lookup

Related Links